Treating Endometriosis

176 million women suffer from endometriosis, but few can even say the word let alone know what it is. In honor of National Endometriosis Awareness Month, GMC wants to educate you about this life-changing disease. 

So what is endometriosis?  Endometriosis occurs when tissue normally located inside the lining of the uterus has grown outside the uterus. It can be found on the ovaries, fallopian tubes, intestines and possibly other places in the pelvic cavity. Sometimes it can even grow outside of the pelvis.

Watch this informative educational video from Endometriosis Research Center to learn more about this disease. The first step is education, then speak to a physician about treatment options.

Stages of Endometriosis
The stages of endometriosis are ranked as follows: minimal (I), mild (II), moderate (III) or severe (IV). Staging of this condition depends on the number, size and site of the implants. The stage also depends on the extent of the adhesions and whether other pelvic organs are involved. The severity of your disease may not match the pain you feel. Even mild endometriosis can cause severe pain.

Normal Anatomy

Diagram of normal female anatomyDiagram of stage two of endometriosisDiagram of stage three of endometriosisDiagram of stage 4 endometriosis



Popular posts from this blog

Ditch The Itch: 4 Plants You Should Definitely Avoid This Summer

It’s Not Your Imagination, 5 Reasons Mosquitoes Are Biting You More

5 Summer Headache Triggers (And How To Avoid Them)